Stuggles and Learning Curves

Rather than listing my struggles week by week, I decided to make a note of them during lectures, and this would enable me to explore the problems and learn more about remote sensing in the process. As I’ve never studied remote sensing before I found it difficult to grasp at first. Below I have listed a few of my problem areas and what I have done to counteract these, including helpful websites and readings I found.

1. The Julian Calendar

At first this had me so confused, the Julian calendar is used by satellite companies in order to date each image, and keep them unique, it can be extremely confusing to determine the exact date of when the image was taken. As part of my on-going course work for this module I had to depict a date from an image, after endless searches on the internet I found an online converter on NASA’s website (2014) that would work out the date of he image. This was on the NASA website, and will assist me in my future challenges with the Julian calendar.

2. Spectral Signatures

Spectral signatures are specific to each surface type/object. By memorizing each spectral signature for water, vegetation, soil and urban areas for example, this would enable me to recognise surface types quickly and easily and be a more efficient way to use my time. In order to learn more about spectral signatures and be able to easily identify them, I turned to my key course textbook ‘Introduction to Remote Sensing” by Campbell and Wynne (2011). This has been my ‘go-to’ book, and I would recommend it to anyone undertaking studies in remote sensing, as it covers everything from the basics to specific examples. I now feel much more confident when recognising different signatures, and this assisted me throughout my coursework.

3. Determining Classes for Classification

Leading on from my struggles with spectra signatures, determining classes for supervised and unsupervised classification was difficult. However, the more time I spent going over the signatures the easier it was to determine classes. Although, I did spend a long time on my practicals 5 & 6 which relied on my classes, so I had to go back and change some of them, this made for a long and repetitive process, but it was worth it in the end.

References:

Campbell, J. B. and Wynne, R. H. (2011) Introduction to Remote Sensing. 5th edn. New York: The Guilford Press.

NASA . (2014) Julien Date Calendar Calculator. [Online] Available at: http://www-air.larc.nasa.gov/tools/jday.htm (Accessed: 24 November 2014)

Leave a Reply

