Social Media

At the start of the course I immersed myself in all things revolving Remote Sensing, and found that there were some interesting Instagram accounts for certain satellites and remote sensing mission and programmes. The social media accounts feature striking images and information about their obtainment. As we’ve been set the task of “Tweet of the Week” (TWOW) these accounts are proving to be very useful!

One of my favourites so far is the NASA page, the link to their Intstagram account is at the bottom of this blog post! The image featured in this blog post and Figure 1 below, is from their account, it’ the same image I used in my TWOW. It shows King Fire, a forest fire in California and was captured using the Operational Land Imager (OLI) which is onboard Landsat 8 on the 19th September 2014. This image stood out to me, due to the striking colours, as it is a False Colour Composite image. Note the image was taken on the 19th September, around a week ago, this is another reason I’m following Remote Sensing on social media, as it provides the most recent images and applications, which I feel enhances my learning, showing how Remote Sensing is used in the ‘real-world’.

Figure 1: King Fire, California. False colour composite image. (Source: NASA, 2014)

Figure 1: King Fire, California. False colour composite image. (Source: NASA, 2014)

Other accounts I have followed are the U.S National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), International Space Station and U.S Geological Survey (USGS). I hope I find some other organisations to follow soon. I am aware that throughout the course I’m going to have to do the norm and read numerous journals and books, however, I feel that by looking at other means of publications and simple images provides me with a breadth of knowledge, and these images aid my learning as I am a visual learner.

89544590

References:

NASA. (2014) Instagram [Online]. [Accessed: 1 October 2014]. Available from: http://instagram.com/nasa/

 

Leave a Reply

